Maldaha Dakshin Lok Sabha Constituency

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91  

Maldaha Dakshin (Lok Sabha constituency) is one of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in India. While five of the assembly segments of No. 8 Maldaha Dakshin (Lok Sabha constituency) are in Malda district in West Bengal, two assembly segments are in Murshidabad district. As per order of the Delimitation Commission in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, Malda (Lok Sabha constituency) ceased to exist from 2009 and two new ones came into being: Maldaha Uttar (Lok Sabha constituency) and Maldaha Dakshin (Lok Sabha constituency).

1 Assembly segments
2 Election results

Assembly segments

Maldaha Dakshin (Lok Sabha constituency) (parliamentary constituency no. 8) is composed of the following assembly segments:

Manikchak (assembly constituency no. 49)
English Bazar (assembly constituency no. 51)
Mothabari (assembly constituency no. 52)
Sujapur (assembly constituency no. 53)
Baisnabnagar (assembly constituency no. 54)
Farakka (assembly constituency no. 55)
Samserganj (assembly constituency no. 56)

Election results

General Election, 2009: Maldaha Uttar
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
Congress Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury 443,377
CPI(M) Abdur Razzaque 307,097
BJP Dipak Kumar Chowdhury 43,997
BSP Dr. Bharat Chandra Mandal 5,889
MUL Md. Ejaruddin 5,752
Independent Manjur Alahi Munshi 3,167
Independent Md. Kamal Basirujjaman 3,411
Independent Rustam Ali 5,944
Independent Shyamal Das 10,852
Turnout 829,482 78.84

 Indian general election, 2009
West Bengal summary
Party Seats won Seat change
Trinamool Congress 19 Increase18
Indian National Congress 6 Increase0
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) 1 Increase1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 9 Decrease17
Communist Party of India 2 Decrease1
Revolutionary Socialist Party 2 Decrease1
Forward bloc 2 Decrease1
Bharatiya Janata Party 1 Increase1

Source: List of successful candidates in General Elections 2009 to the 15th Lok Sabha
Statitical Report on General Elections 2004 to the 14th Lok Sabha

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91